Home »

 
 

TOSS

 

Temporal Seismic Series

People:

Simone Marzorati – simone.marzorati@ingv.it

Chiara Ladina – chiara.ladina@ingv.it

Marco Cattaneo – marco.cattaneo@ingv.it

Simona Carannante – simona.carannante@ingv.it

Ezio D’Alema – ezio.dalema@ingv.it

Lucia Zaccarelli – lucia.zaccarelli@bo.ingv.it

Gilberto Saccorotti – gilberto.saccorotti@pi.ingv.it

Zupo Maria – maria.zupo@pi.ingv.it

With TOSS we aim to assess the main characteristics of the ambient (seismic) noise. We intend assess the performance of the acquisition system in terms of time series entirety, number of gaps and data quality over a long time window. We apply the probability density function (PDF) method (a) to assess the performance of the seismographs and to construct a noise model of the study area. While the characterization of the (seismic) wave field for understanding the spatial and temporal distribution of the sources of the noise, is performed using selected stations of the network like a seismic array.

By applying a series of techniques to cross-correlate ambient noise (Multi Window Cross Spectrum, b; the stretching techniques, c, d) we will also investigate changes of the crustal elastic properties.

We will work on a original procedure to obtain crustal shear wave tomography images by the inversion of dispersion curves information (g) resulting from correlation techniques that are able to extract surface wave information from ambient seismic noise (e, f).

References

McNamara, D. E. and R.P. Buland, Ambient Noise Levels in the Continental United States, Bull. Seism. Soc. Am., 94, 4, 1517-1527, 2004.

Poupinet, G., Ellsworth,W.L.&Frechet, J., 1984. Monitoring velocity variations in the crust using earthquake doublets: an application to the Calaveras fault, California. Geophys, J., Res., 89, 5719–5731.

Sens-Sch¨onfelder, C. &Wegler, U., 2006. Passive image interferometry and seasonal variations of seismic velocities at Merapi volcano, Indonesia. Geophys. Res. Lett., 33, L21302, doi:10.1029/2006GL027797.

Hadziioannou C., Larose E., Coutant O., Roux P. and Campillo M., 2009, Stability of Monitoring Weak Changes in Multiply Scattering Media with Ambient Noise Correlation: Laboratory Experiments. The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, 125, 6, 3688-3695.

Shapiro, N.M. & Campillo, M., 2004. Emergence of broadband Rayleigh waves from correlations of the ambient seismic noise. Geophys. Res. Lett., 31, L07614, doi:10.1029/2004GL019491.

Bensen G.D., Ritzwoller M.H., Barmin M.P., Levshin A.L., Lin F., Moschetti M.P., Shapiro N.M. and Yang Y. (2007), Processing seismic ambient noise data to obtain reliable broadband surface wave dispersion measurements. Geophys. J. Int., 10.1111/j.1365-246X.2007.03374.x.

Shapiro, N.M., Campillo, M., Stehly, L. & Ritzwoller, M.H., 2005. Highresolution surface-wave tomography from ambient seismic noise. Science, 307, 1615–1618. doi:10.1126/science.1108339.